Absurdly Driven looks at the world of business with a skeptical eye and a firmly rooted tongue in cheek.

You don’t always need to make a show of it.

Sometimes, you’ll create something useful and get it out there as soon as you can.

This, it seems, occurred with Apple last week.

One of the more irritating aspects of online life is signing up for things that you’ve no idea you’ve signed up for.

You click a button, in the belief that you’ll still have a chance to see what it means and then, a month later, you’ll realize you’ve already been charged for some fine subscription or other.

Yet last week, in an iOS 12 update, Apple inserted a truly clever and useful thing.

Instead of you just confirming something with Touch ID, Face ID or your passcode and not realizing what you’re confirming, a popup appears to ask you if you really know what you’re doing.

Yo. Are you sure you want to do this? It could be sketchy.

That’s what it should say, of course. 

Imagine that many people don’t even realize they’ve bought a free 3-day trial and then dedicated $2.99 a month to something they really don’t want.

Weather apps, documents scanners and translators are said to be among the worst offenders.

Now, a little consumer-focused sanity can prevail.

It’s also trying to make sure people trust it above its competitors.

This new little touch, therefore, expresses excellent intentions and a spirit of consumer protection.

You don’t often see that from a tech company.





READ SOURCE

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here